House Committee Asks 35 Companies to “Preserve” Metadata of Lawmakers

  • The House Select Committee has requested that 35 telecommunication companies hold on to records of lawmakers potentially involved with the January 6 insurrection.
  • Cellular service providers and social media platforms received the request.
  • Reps. Marjorie Taylor Greene and Matt Gaetz are on the list.

Nearly eight months after the Capitol insurrection, the House Select Committee investigating the January 6 riot has requested that 35 telecommunication companies hold on to records from a developing list of Republicans in Congress, former President Donald Trump’s family, and Trump himself, as the investigation continues.

“The Select Committee today sent letters to 35 private-sector entities, including telecommunications, email, and social media companies, instructing them to preserve records which may be relevant to the Select Committee’s investigation,” a spokesperson from the committee said Monday. “The Select Committee is at this point gathering facts, not alleging wrongdoing by any individual.”

Facebook, Google, Apple, Microsoft, Twitter, AT&T, T-Mobile, and Verizon Wireless are among the list of companies that received the request. “Pro-Trump” platforms such as Gab, 4chan, 8kun, Parler, Discord, and also received the request, according to a press release.

The letter from the committee requests records from those “charged with crimes associated with the attack” and  “individuals who were listed on permit applications or were otherwise involved in organizing, funding, or speaking at the January 5, 2021, or January 6, 2021, rallies in the District of Columbia.”

The request also includes preservation of records from individuals “objecting to the certification of the electoral college votes; and individuals potentially involved with discussions of plans to challenge, delay, or interfere with the January 6, 2021, certification or otherwise attempt to overturn election results, in the days preceding and up through the attack.”

While the full list remains unavailable, CNN first reported that the list includes people involved in the “Stop the Steal” rally, such as, “Republican Reps. Lauren Boebert of Colorado, Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia, Jim Jordan of Ohio, Andy Biggs of Arizona, Paul Gosar also of Arizona, Mo Brooks of Alabama, Madison Cawthorn of North Carolina, Matt Gaetz of Florida, Louie Gohmert of Texas, Jody Hice of Georgia and Scott Perry of Pennsylvania.”

CNN reported that this request could become a “lengthy legal battle” should the committee use extra measures to get telecommunications companies to comply — considering the involvement of members of Congress. 

The Select Committee did not immediately respond to Insider’s request for comment.

Leave a Comment