What does the Eight of Cups tarot card mean?

TAROT Cards date back to at least the mid-15th century in various parts of Europe and are used to give guidance.

The Eight of Cups is one of the 78 cards found in a deck and is found within what card reads call the Minor Arcana Tarot cards.


The Eight of Cups is part of the Minor Arcana Tarot cardsCredit: Getty

What does the Eight of Cups tarot card mean?

The Eight of Cups often occurs when someone is feeling compelled to walk away from a situation.

According to Biddy Tarot, “It could mean turning your back on an unfulfilling relationship, job, career path, living arrangement or creative project that was once a source of great happiness to you but now only brings you pain.”

Some of the most commonly associated words or phrases include:

  • Disappointment
  • Abandonment
  • Withdrawal
  • Escapism

When drawn, the Eight of Cups often serves as a reminder “to ask yourself what brings you joy, contentment and fulfilment on a deeper level,” and use that to pursue goals that will give the satisfaction one is seeking.

What does the Eight of Cups reversed mean?

Like all tarot cards, the Eight of Cups means something different when drawn reversed.

When reversed, the Eight of Cups often resembles the question “Do I stay or do I go?” 

According to Biddy Tarot, “If the reversed Eight of Cups is paired with more passive cards such as the Hanged Man or the Four of Swords, then it may be a sign that you wish to try one more time.”

“However, if this card couples with a more active card such as the Eight of Wands or Chariot, it may be time to move on and pursue a different path.”

Some of the commonly associated words or phrases include:

  • Trying one more time
  • Indecision
  • Aimless drifting
  • Walking away

The card can also mean that you never feel satisfied with staying in one place and it is recommended to listen to your heart to figure out your path.

There are 14 cards in the Cups suit


There are 14 cards in the Cups suitCredit: Getty

What are Minor Arcana Tarot cards?

Minor Arcana cards typically appear first in tarot card games and are numbered one to ten.

The cards are known for showing what’s happening in ones life and how its actually affecting you.

Minor Arcana cards include the Wands, Cups, Swords and Pentacles.

The suite of cup cards include:

The King and Queen cards are typically the most powerful.

What are the Major Arcana cards in Tarot?

The Fool – Beginnings, innocence, spontaneity, a free spirit

The Magician – manifestation, resourcefulness, power

The High Priestess – intuition, sacred knowledge, divine feminine

The Empress – Femininity, beauty, nature

The Emperor – authority, establishment, structure

The Hierophant – spiritual wisdom

The Lovers – love, harmony, relationships

The Lovers – love, harmony, relationships

The Chariot – control, willpower, success

Justice – fairness, truth, law

Strength – strength, courage, influence

The Hermit – soul searching, inner guidance

Wheel of Fortune – good luck, karma, life cycles 

The Hanged Man – pause, surrender, letting go

Death – endings, change, transitions

Temperance – balance, moderation, patience

The Devil – shadow self, addiction, restriction

The Tower – sudden change, upheaval, chaos

The Star – hope, faith, purpose, spirituality

The Moon – illusion, fear, anxiety

The Sun – positivity, fun, warmth, success

Judgment – rebirth, inner calling

The World – completion, accomplishment, travel


We pay for your stories!

Do you have a story for The US Sun team?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here