When does Lil Nas X’s album Montero come out?

MONTERO is Lil Nas X’s highly anticipated debut album and it’s almost here.

On August 31, 2021, the artist revealed the cover artwork and many fans are wondering if there is a hidden message within the picture.


Montero is scheduled to be released September 17, 2021Credit: lilnasx/Instagram

When does Lil Nas X’s album Montero come out?

Following the release of the cover art, Columbia Records also confirmed the release date.

Montero will be out September 17, 2021 and include the hit songs, “Montero (Call Me by Your Name),” “Industry Baby” and “Sun Goes Down.”

Earlier this week, Lil Nas X revealed this release date on Twitter, along with a message about the creation of the album.

In a tweet, he said, “creating this album has been therapy for me. i’ve learned to let go of trying to control people’s perception of who i am, what i can do, and where i will be. i’ve realized the only open for me that really matters is my own.”

Fans can pre-order and pre-save the album ahead of its scheduled release date.

What is the tracklist?

The songs on his upcoming album include:

  • Montero (Call Me By Your Name)
  • Dead Right Now
  • Industry Baby (ft. Jack Harlow)
  • That’s What I Want
  • The Art of Realization
  • Scoop (ft. Doja Cat)
  • One of Me (ft. Elton John)
  • Lost In The Citadel
  • Dolla Sign Slime (ft. Megan Thee Stallion)
  • Tales of Dominica
  • Sun Goes Down
  • Void
  • Don’t Want It
  • Life After Salem
  • Am I Dreaming (ft. Miley Cyrus)

What controversy has surrounding Montero?

Lil Nas X’s debut album did not come without controversy earlier this year.

After releasing the music video for his song “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)” the artist also released limited-edition Nike Satan Shoes and then turned into one of the most controversial pop stars on the planet. 

The video which includes the shoes as well as Lil Nas X giving the devil a lap dance, resulted in criticism from conservative politicians and commentators who claimed he was encouraging devil worshiping.

In a note written by the rapper, whose real name is Montero Lamar Hill, it was revealed that the video was actually meant to normalize queerness. 

“I know we promised to never be ‘that’ type of gay person, I know we promised to die with the secret, but this will open doors for many other queer people to simply exist,” he said.

“You see this is very scary for me, people will be angry, they will say I’m pushing an agenda. But the truth is, I am. The agenda to make people stay the f*** out of other people’s lives and stop dictating who they should be.”

Despite the backlash Lil Nas X received for promoting the video and shoes with “drops of human blood,” the internet stayed quiet after professional skateboarder Tony Hawk, released a limited-edition skateboard containing his own human blood and he surely noticed.

Lil Nas X continues to defend his music ahead of the high anticipated release


Lil Nas X continues to defend his music ahead of the high anticipated releaseCredit: Getty

What have Lil Nas X’s previous cover arts revealed?

In 2019, Lil Nas X released his 7 EP, which ended up being a nod to his sexuality.

Back then, Lorenzo Sozzi, who designed the cover, exclusively told TMZ that Lil Nas X had a vision that included leaving a dystopian world for a futuristic one.

The cover, which features a rainbow building, was released on June 15, 2019, and the artist then came out two weeks later on June 30.

After he publicly came out as gay, Lil Nas X joked, “deada** thought i made it obvious,” referring to the album cover.

While it is unknown if the Montero album cover is meant to give insight into what he has planned, fans continue to try and figure out the meaning behind the new art work.

Leave a Comment